How Do I Get my Vehicle out of Impound?

If your vehicle was impounded during a traffic stop, there are several things you must do in order to get your vehicle released from the tow company. 

We can only release the vehicle to the registered owner that is on file with the DMV. If you have not registered your vehicle in your name at an Oregon DMV, you must do this before we will release your vehicle to you. The registered owner MUST be present. 

If the vehicle in question is owned by a business and is registered by that business through the DMV, then a representative of that business must also bring proof of his employment by that business. 

If you do not have a valid driver's license, you must bring a licensed driver with you to pick up the vehicle. That licensed driver must be the one to drive the vehicle. If the licensed driver allows an unlicensed driver to drive the vehicle, it could end up back in impound and the licensed driver may be cited for allowing them to operate a motor vehicle.

You must bring your registration. If this is in the vehicle, you may go to the impound and request access to your vehicle in order to get the required paperwork. Generally the tow yard only allows the registered owner to retrieve paperwork out of the vehicle. A title is not the same as a vehicle registration and cannot be used in place of one. 

You must bring proof of insurance. Oregon law requires that all operating vehicles must have insurance, so we are unable to allow you to operate your vehicle if you do not have proof of insurance for that vehicle. Electronic proof of insurance can be emailed to us before the release of the vehicle. You may also request that your insurance company fax us proof of insurance, but we must have this before we can allow you to leave with the vehicle. This proof of insurance must be current. An expired card will not be accepted.

You must bring a valid government issued photo identification. 

You may get your vehicle out of impound any day of the week. Our office hours are Monday through Thursday from 7:00 am until 5:00 pm. If you are attempting to get your vehicle released Friday through Sunday, you must call our Non-Emergency Dispatch Number (503-982-2341) or our business line (503 981-8738) and make an appointment when staff is available.

Our office charges a $150 fee in order for us to release your vehicle to you. The tow company charges their own fees that are in addition to our own fee. To inquire about your towing fee, you need to contact the tow company. During business hours, we only accept cash or card payments. If you are requesting a vehicle release outside of business hours, we only accept cash and you must bring exact change. At no time do we accept personal checks. 

You are given 30 days from the day your vehicle is impounded to reclaim your vehicle. If you do not claim your vehicle within that window of time, the vehicle is released to the towing company. It is up to the discretion of the towing company what happens to the vehicle after it is released to them.